Strokeplay success is Tidy for Heather and Suzanne

Bognor ladies held their 36-hole strokeplay championship in bright sunshine coupled with a light breeze, and players took advantage of near-perfect conditions to post commendable scores.

Wednesday, 4th June 2014, 4:00 pm
Bogonr ladies' strokeplay winners Heather Tidy and Suzanne Taylor with captain Nicki Vincent

In the morning round, Heather Tidy and Suzanne Taylor carded gross 77s, with both seeing their handicaps reduced – Heather’s to 3.2 and Suzanne’s to 4.5.

The afternoon round proved more challenging as hot weather sapped energy.

Results: Strokeplay Champion 2014 – Heather Tidy 157; Runner-up – Suzanne Taylor 161; Best am scores – Bridget Samuels 84; Best pm score – Sian Southerton 84.

These rounds were used as a qualifier for the matchplay championship to be played as a knock-out during the rest of the season.

Eight players will vie for the trophy: Heather Tidy, Suzanne Taylor, Sian Southerton, Teresa Byrne, Wendy Johnson, Nicki Vincent, Caroline Pilbeam and Chris Tuke.

Bognor ladies held a greensomes trophy.

Results: 1 Sally Cameron & Sue Redmond 41pts; 2 Sue Crossen & Georgina McCormack 38 (cb); 3 Penny Entecott & Sheila Sargeant 38 (cb); 4 Wendy Johnson & Debbie Fenton 38; 5 Kay Walker & Sue Doughty 37.

Bognor hosted local rivals Littlehampton in an evening fixture. After a mixed start to the season with a draw and a loss, Bognor finally hit form with a resounding 3½-1½ win. Performance of the evening was John Lampard & John Cable’s extraordinary 9&7 win.

Results: John Lampard & John Cable won 9&7, Rob Redmond & Bob Wilson won 3&2, Mark Watson & Rob Comins halved, Simon Watts & Mike Walsh won 4&3, Ron Stevens & James MacLean lost 1 down.

Bognor seniors held a midweek Stableford with 45 players taking part. It was a very tight contest with only one point separating the first three places. Winner was Alan Burrage.

Results: 1 Alan Burrage 39pts, 2 Gee Fenwick 38; 3 Barry Appleby 38 (cb).


On a warm afternoon, the Cowdray team of Debbie Cheasley, Jill Parry, Sue Brown, Lil Cummins and Wendy Street beat an elite ladies’ team from Chichester GC to go forward to the fifth round of the Mail On Sunday competition.

They were tough opposition, but Cowdray used their home course to their advantage and won 5-0.

They host Lee-on-the-Solent in the next round.

Cowdray ladies held their May Stableford.

Results: Div 1 – 1 Janice Leath 32pts; 2 Mandy Lucking 32; 3 Judy Stillwell 31. Div 2 – 1 Myrna Heustice 36; 2 Caroline Haynes 34; 3 Glenda Luff 33. Div 3 – 1 Jenny Nichols 32; 2 Mary Morling 30; 3 Anne Laver 27.

Thirty-three Cowdray ladies played in the Sainsbury qualifier.

Results: 1 Mandy Lucking nett 70; 2 Angela Pike 73; 3 Sue Brown 74; 4 Jenny Nicholls 74.

Cowdray Park seniors held their monthly Stableford and when the scores were collated, only five of the 98 players returned scores better than par, with the sudden growth of the rough seemingly catching players out.

The majority of the leading scores came from players teeing off in the second half of the day. Overall winner with an excellent score of 43 points was John Sanderson with his best score of the year so far, earning him a two-shot handicap reduction.

Ian Goodall, in second place, re-discovered his form and had his handicap reduced by two as he won division two with 42 points.

Bruce Spooner finished third with 41, cashing in on his strength with his irons. Octogenarian Eric Hobbs, who started in the second group out, returned with 36 points and maintained a prominent position throughout the day, finishing sixth in division two.

Runner-up in division one was consistent Peter Hallt with 36, from Jan de Vries and Pat Harrison on 35. Cowdray’s own Silver Fox Graham Evans, playing his first competitive round of the year, came fourth in division two to earn a return to division one.

A total of £204 was raised for Prostate Cancer Research through the raffle and donations.

Cowdray’s scratch team reached the third round of the Optimus Trophy after a close match with Singing Hills.

Todd White and Scott Foxon continued their success in the foursomes winning 2&1 and Mark Priestley and Trevor Challen won 2&1 to make it 2-2 going into the afternoon singles.

White showed great spirit but lost one down. Foxon hit two dramatic blows on the 18th to set up a 15ft eagle putt which was enough to level the match at 3-3.

Ian Sewell and Challen won their singles games leaving Cowdray Park needing one more point to get through.

Cowdray’s Matt Hill was two up with two to play when his opponent holed a putt from off the green to take the match to the 18th.

Hill was left with a lengthy two putt to win the match. Keeping his cool he rolled the putt up to within inches of the hole and the final putt was conceded.


Selsey veterans had a presentation day.

The St Wilfrid’s Cup was presented to Paul Boughton, who won with 37 points. It was presented by St Wilfrid’s Hospice’s Julie Longman, events and community organiser, and Gemma Tupper, fundraising administration assistant.

Veteran’s captain Bobby Moore presented a cheque from the veterans’ section for £250 to the ladies for St Wilfrid’s.

The second trophy handed over was the Ted Sherman Cup, won by Gordon Shepherd with 40 shots over nine holes. The cup was presented captain Moore.


Avisford Park held their Captain’s Day competition. Some 91 people entered one of the club’s biggest events of the year.

Club Captain Mick Mills was lapping up the sunshine; driving round in his buggy supplying drinks to all the players and making sure everyone was enjoying their day.

Grant Walker, on the 305-yard par-four sixth hole, used a wedge of the tee, won the nearest-the-pin prize and still birdied the hole.

Nearest the pin on the second was Paul White, on the 13th Simon Small, the 14th Kevin Brown, and the 18th Stephen Porter.

In the competition, fourth place with nett 69 was Russell Evershed, third was Christopher May with 68, runner-up was Gary Rayner with 68 and the winner was Simon Small with a fantastic score of 66.

Money raised for the captain’s charity, Chestnut Tree House, totalled £110.

A four-man cha cha cha was held at Avisford Park. The format for this is Stableford with the best score to count on the first hole, two best scores on the second and three best three scores on the third hole before the sequence is repeated.

Paul Raikes, Adam Napier-Raikes, Russell Evershed and Nick Nolan were victorious with 86 points, ahead of Scott Wilson, Grant Walker, Craig Marchant and Daniel McGuiness with 82.

The six-club competition is a fun game in which you play in teams of two in a foursomes Stableford format.

Graham Twine and Roger Boorer won with 32 points. Second were Carl Corbin and Stephen Porter with 31.

In the club medal, division-one winner was Andrew Cooke with nett 70, beating Mark Stafford on countback. Division-two winner was Gordon Butler with 67, runner-up was Richard Burtenshaw with 70.


A field of 44 seniors took part in the Centenary Trophy medal) competition.

It was played in very testing conditions with the wind gusting to 40mph, which was reflected in the scores. Peter Morris managed conditions best and returned a nett score of 76, placing him first on countback from Nigel Smith and John Edwards.

The re-arranged greensomes Stableford was played in ideal conditions. The winning pair was Ken Kenny and Mike Power with 41 points; runners-up were Mike Walton and Tony Tiernan with 38.

The seniors played away to Ham Manor. It was hard-fought and ended 3-3.