VIDEO: Nick Gibb ‘privileged’ to be re-elected as Bognor and Littlehampton MP

NICK Gibb has spoken of his pride at holding onto his seat as Bognor Regis and Littlehampton MP.

The Conservative member recorded a huge 24,185 votes, with UKIP’s Graham Jones coming second with 10,241 votes.

Conservative Nick Gibb has been MP since 1997

Conservative Nick Gibb has been MP since 1997

It means Mr Gibb will see in his 20th year as Bognor and Littlehampton’s representative in parliament, having first been elected in 1997.

On hearing about his victory, Mr Gibb said: “Most importantly I’d like to thank the people of Bognor Regis and Littlehampton for putting their trust in me to again represent them in the House of Commons.

“It is a privilege to do so, and I have always tried to represent and work for everybody in this constituency, regardless on how they voted on May 7.

And in what looks set to be a majority Conservative government, he added: “After five years of austerity, and some very difficult decisions, this is a personal victory for David Cameron and George Osbourne.

“For their stewardship of the economy, for the decisions they have taken us over the last five years that have brought us from the deepest recession since the second world war, to an economy that has the strongest growth in the developed West, the highest number of people in employment in our history, and zero inflation.”

He added that ‘tonight’s political results presents challenges for all the political parties’.