Five candidates for the general election in Bognor Regis and Littlehampton

FIVE candidates are vying to become the next MP for Bognor Regis and Littlehampton.

The list of potential parliamentarians was announced by Arun District Council at 4pm today, Thursday, April 9, as the deadline for nominations passed.

Those seeking electors’ votes in the general election on May 7 are in alphabetical order: Alan Butcher (Labour), Nick Gibb (Conservative), Graham Jones (UKIP), Simon McDougall (Green) and Francis Oppler (Liberal Democrats).

The line-up is one less than the number of hopefuls who contested the last general election in the constituency in 2010. This resulted in a win for Mr Gibb.

Polling stations will be open from 7am-10pm on May 7.