AT THE tricky heights of 14 metres, it’s not often Arundel Castle’s ‘Rose Window’ can lap up some much-needed TLC.
However, that’s just what happened this month as the historic attraction prepares to re-open for the latest season.
Peter Nottingham, who is the conservation manager at the castle, took the rare chance to inspect the stunning stained glass window, in the Victorian Barons’ Hall.
Some patch-up work was needed just below the fabulous fenestra which gave Peter the unusual opportunity to examine it and propose some much-needed cleaning of the glass and stone tracery, to restore it to its original beauty.
The Barons’ Hall was begun by Duke Henry, the 15th Duke of Norfolk, in 1893 – using the services of Charles Buckler, a Victorian architect – and is 41 metres long and 16 metres high.
The castle is braced to re-open on March 28 for the 2015 season.